Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator website

HMO Additional Licensing Scheme

Additional Licensing Scheme

On 17 August 2022 and following 2 rounds of 10 week consultations, the council has designated an area in York comprising of 8 electoral ward boundaries, where HMOs (Houses in Multiple Occupation) with 3 or 4 tenants who form more than one household will be subject to an Additional Licensing Scheme.

HMOs that meet certain criteria in these wards will require Additional Licensing from 1 April 2023.

For more information about how we made this decision, view the report submitted to the council's Executive on 28 July. Minutes and agenda for the meeting are also available.

Copies of the designation and public notice of the scheme can also be viewed online.

See information on:

Definition of a HMO

A HMO (House in Multiple Occupation) is a single property which is lived in by 3 tenants or more who form more than one household. The tenants share facilities such as the kitchen, bathroom or toilet.

Exemptions to the definition of a HMO

The Housing Act 2004 and associated regulations list certain properties that are not defined as HMOs, including:

  • any property occupied by just 2 people who form 2 households
  • buildings managed by a local housing authority, registered social landlord, Police or Fire and Rescue authority or a health service body
  • buildings already regulated under certain other statutory provisions (Schedule 1 to SI 2006 Number 373)
  • certain student halls of residence
  • buildings occupied mainly for the purposes of a religious community whose main occupation is prayer, contemplation, education or the relief of suffering
  • owner occupied homes with no more than two lodgers

You can find further information on:

Top of page

HMO licence criteria

A landlord needs a licence for their HMO if the property either meets:

A licence is needed to ensure that certain standards are met for the safety of all occupants.

National Mandatory HMO licensing

A landlord currently needs a National Mandatory HMO licence for their property if:

  • the property is occupied by 5 or more people
  • those people form more than 1 household
  • these tenants share facilities like a kitchen, bathroom or toilet

The National Mandatory licensing Scheme covers all HMOs, in any part of the York area.

HMOs who are licensed under the National Mandatory HMO Licensing Scheme will not need to be licensed under the Additional Licensing Scheme as well.

Additional Licensing

A landlord will need an Additional Licence for their property if all of the following apply:

  • the property is within the boundary of any of the 8 electoral wards
  • the property is occupied by 3 or 4 people
  • those people form more than 1 household
  • tenants share facilities like a kitchen, bathroom or toilet
  • the property is not already licensed under the National Mandatory HMO licensing Scheme

Top of page

Electoral ward boundaries for Additional Licensing

HMOs that meet the Additional Licensing criteria in the following electoral wards will need Additional Licensing.

You can check if your property is in a designated ward by entering your postcode in the interactive map on each of the ward pages:

You can view an interactive map of all of York's electoral wards, which can be searched via postcode.

You can also download a map of York highlighting the 8 electoral ward boundaries which will be subject to Additional Licensing.

Top of page

Additional Licensing Scheme timescale

We will welcome applications for Additional Licensing for HMOs from landlords from 1 February 2023.

We will provide information to landlords before 1 January 2023 explaining how to make a successful application.

Additional Licensing will be required from 1 April 2023.

Landlords can also read the HMO guidance notes, which provide information about:

  • the physical standards required of a HMO
  • the management standards required in a HMO
  • the fit and proper person test including the training requirements

Top of page

Also see