Travel and transport

Temporary road closures

View details of all current temporary road closures in place in York, including closures due to major events.

Alternately, view details of current temporary parking suspensions.


Current temporary road closures

All closures take place from 1 minute after midnight on the start date to 11.59pm on the end date, unless the specific times are shown.

Road closed Date and time closed from Date and time closed to Reason for closure
Ascit Way Monday 26 September, 9.30am Friday 30 September 2022, 3.30pm Water mains works
Askam Bryan Public Right of Way 2/9/10 Monday 16 May Wednesday 30 November 2022 Public safety concerns
Barbican Road Monday 5 September, 9.00am Friday 28 October 2022, 4.00pm Traffic signal refurbishment works
Blake Street Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Blue Bridge Lane Monday 15 August Friday 28 October 2022 Demolition works
Castlegate Wednesday 15 December 2021 Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Church Street Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Cinder Lane Public Right of Way No. 55/131/10 Monday 5 September Sunday 5 March 2023 York Central development works
Clifton Ings Monday 4 April Tuesday 4 October 2022 Flood defence works
Clifton Ings footpath 25/4/10 Monday 9 May Wednesday 9 November 2022 Flood defence works
Clifton Ings National Cycle Network Route No 65 Wednesday 5 October 2022 Tuesday 28 February 2023 Flood defence works
Colliergate Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Coppergate Wednesday 15 June Wednesday 14 December 2022 Local traffic management measures
Cygnet Street Monday 19 September. 8.00am Friday 7 October 2022, 5.00pm Road maintenance works
Eboracum Way footpath Sunday 1 August 2021 Saturday 24 December 2022 Building works
Fishergate Monday 15 August Friday 28 October 2022 Demolition works
Front Street, Acomb Saturday 15 October, 6.00am Saturday 15 October 2022, 6.00pm Acomb market
Front Street, Acomb Saturday 19 November, 6.00am Saturday 19 November 2022, 6.00pm Acomb market
Front Street, Acomb Saturday 17 December, 6.00am Saturday 17 December 2022, 6.00pm Acomb market
Fossgate Wednesday 15 December 2021 Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Fossgate Saturday 1 October 2022, 8.00am Tuesday 28 February 2023, 6.00pm Loading bay purposes
Goodramgate Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Green Lane footpath 46/26 Wednesday 11 May Saturday 8 October 2022 Horse race events
Kings Square Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Kings Streeet Tuesday 27 September, 9.30am Tuesday 27 September 2022, 3.30pm Water mains works
Knavesmire Road Friday 23 September, 4.00pm Sunday 25 September 2022, 9.00pm York Balloon Fiesta
Knavesmire Avenue Friday 23 September, 4.00pm Sunday 25 September 2022, 9.00pm York Balloon Fiesta
Lendal Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Murton footpath No. 30/1/10 Sunday 1 August 2021 Tuesday 31 January 2023 Bridge replacement works
Murton footpath No. 30/9/10 Sunday 1 August 2021 Tuesday 31 January 2023 Bridge replacement works
Newgate Monday 5 September Monday 3 October 2022 Building maintenance works
Paragon Street Monday 5 September, 9.00am Friday 28 October 2022, 4.00pm Traffic signal refurbishment works
Patrick Pool Thursday 13 May 2021 Friday 30 September 2022 Pavement cafés
St Helens Square Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Skelton footpath No. 11/6/10 Sunday 1 August 2021 Tuesday 31 January 2023 Bridge maintenance works
Stamford Bridge public right of way 15/17/20 Thursday 16 June Friday 6 January 2023 Subsidence
Strensall footpath No. 3/13/10 Sunday 1 August 2021 Tuesday 31 January 2023 Bridge replacement works
The Shambles Sunday 11 September, 8.00pm Friday 21 October, 6.00am Building maintenance works
Walmgate Wednesday 15 December 2021 Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Walmgate Saturday 1 October 2022, 8.00am Tuesday 28 February 2023, 6.00pm Loading bay purposes
Wellington Street Monday 5 September, 9.00am Friday 28 October 2022, 4.00pm Traffic signal refurbishment works
William Court Monday 15 August Friday 28 October 2022 Demolition works
York footpath 46/30 Wednesday 11 May Saturday 8 October 2022 Horse race events
York Footstreets Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures

Top of page


Road closures for the York Races

Race day closures for Friday 7 and Saturday 8 October:

  • Albemarle Road
  • Cherry Lane
  • Curzon Terrace
  • Kensington Street
  • Knavesmire Crescent
  • Knavesmire Road
  • Lorne Street
  • Montague Street
  • Queen Victoria Street
  • Racecourse Road
  • Scarcroft Hill
  • St Edwards Close
  • Telford Terrace and back lanes
  • Top Lane, Copmanthorpe
  • Trafalgar Street

Top of page


Also see

Traffic Management Team

West Offices, Station Rise, York, YO1 6GA

Telephone: 01904 551550