GDPR Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy
Streets, roads and pavements

Temporary traffic restrictions

View details of all current temporary traffic restrictions which are currently in place in York, both short-term and long-term and closures due to events/

The traffic restriction orders are arranged in alphabetical order.

Each of the individual orders listed contains information, such as:

  • precise times when restrictions will be applied (if applicable)
  • specific details of the extent and location of the order

Temporary road closures

Road closed Date and time closed from Date and time closed to Reason for closure
Acaster Lane Tuesday 21 April 2020 Tuesday 21 April 2020 Water works
Acomb Markets Saturday 15 February Saturday 19 December 2020 Public event
Alma Terrace Monday 16 March 2020 Wednesday 15 September 2021 Provide Disabled Persons parking place
Ascot Way Monday 27 May 2019 Tuesday 30 June 2020 Neaby development work
Askham Bryan Footpath 2/9/10 Saturday 16 November 2019 Sunday 15 November 2020 Public safety
Bootham Level Crossing Saturday 4 April at 11.00pm Sunday 5 April 2020 at 8.30am Track maintenance works
Church Street Monday 3 February Friday 3 April 2020 Footpath resurfacing
Church Street and St Sampson's Square Saturday 22 June 2019 Saturday 21 June 2020 Public event
Collingwood Avenue Tuesday 31 March Tuesday 31 March Water works
Copmanthorpe No 2 Foot Crossing Tuesday 24 March Wednesday 13 May 2020 Track maintenance
Eastern Terrace Monday 30 March Friday 3 April 2020 Electricity connection works
Esplanade Car Park Saturday 18 January Sunday 15 November 2020 Rowing events
Goodramgate Wednesday 1 April Thursday 2 April 2020 Electrical works
Grosvenor Road Saturday 20 July 2019 Sunday 31 May 2020 Nearby sporting event
Hungate Friday 18 January 2019 Tuesday 16 June 2020 Nearby development work
Millfield Lane Level Crossing Sunday 5 April at 10.30pm Monday 6 April 2020 at 6.30am Track maintenance works
Monkgate Saturday 8 February Thursday 9 April 2020 Traffic signal improvement
Nether Poppleton Level Crossing Sunday 5 April at 10.30pm Monday 6 April 2020 at 6.30am Track maintenance works
Palmer Lane Friday 18 January 2019 Tuesday 16 June 2020 Nearby development work
Queen's Staith Monday 16 September 2019 Friday 22 January 2021 Nearby development work
Sandringham Street Monday 20 April Thursday 23 April 2020 Water connection works
Salisbury Terrace Tuesday 31 March Tuesday 31 March 2020 Carriageway maintenance work
Salisbury Terrace Tuesday 31 March at 1.00pm Wednesday 1 April at 6.00am Emergency water works
Salisbury Terrace and Garfield Terrace Tuesday 14 April Monday 20 April 2020 Water works
Shipton Road and Park & Ride Access Road Monday 9 December Tuesday 31 March 2020 Sewer improvement work
Skelton Footpath No 11/6/10 Saturday 14 December 2019 Wednesday 13 May 2020 Bridge replacement work
St Helen’s Road Tuesday 7 April Thursday 9 April 2020 Electrical works
St Sampson's Square and Church Street Saturday 22 June 2019 Saturday 21 June 2020 Public event
Stonegate Monday 6 January Friday 3 April 2020 Footpath resurfacing
Victor Street Saturday 18 January 2020 Tuesday 6 July 2021 Traffic management improvements

Top of page


Closures due to events

  • Esplanade Car Park, during rowing events between Saturday 18 January 2020 and Sunday 15 November 2020

Top of page


Also see

Traffic Management Team

West Offices, Station Rise, York, YO1 6GA

Telephone: 01904 551550