View details of all current temporary road closures in place in York, including closures due to major events.

Alternately, view details of current temporary parking suspensions.


Current temporary road closures

All closures take place from 00.01am on the start date to 23.59pm on the end date unless the specific times are known.

Road closed Date and time closed from Date and time closed to Reason for closure
Aldwark Monday 1 November Friday 12 November 2021 Building Maintenance work
Back Swinegate Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Blake Street Monday 15 June 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Bootham Sunday 19 September Friday 22 October 2021 Traffic signal works
Chantry Lane Wednesday 26 May 2021 Friday 24 December 2021 Flood protection works
Church Street Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Colliergate Monday 15 June 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Coney Street Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Coppergate Wednesday 16 December 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Social distancing measures
Davygate Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Earlsborough Terrace Tuesday 1 June Thursday 16 December 2021 Flood defence works
Eboracum Way Footpath Sunday 1 August 2021 Tuesday 21 June 2022 Building works
Feasegate Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Forestgate Monday 4 October Friday 29 October 2021 Footway maintenance
Fossgate Saturday 25 July 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Social distancing measures
Foss Islands Road Monday 1 November Monday 22 November 2021 Telecoms work
Foxwood Lane Monday 25 October Friday 29 October 2021 Road resurfacing works
Front Street, Acomb Saturday 15 May Saturday 18 December 2021 Saturday markets 2021
Gillygate Sunday 19 September Friday 22 October 2021 Traffic Signal works
Goodramgate Monday 15 June 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Grape Lane Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
High Ousegate Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Holtby Lane Monday 1 November Friday 12 November Road resurfacing work
The Horseshoe Monday 18 October Monday 8 November 2021 Gas works
Hyrst Grove Monday 4 October Friday 5 November 2021 Footway maintenance
Jubbergate Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
King's Square Monday 15 June 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Layerthorpe Sudnay 24 October Sinday 31 October 2021 Telecoms work
Lendal Monday 15 June 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Lendal Monday 18 October Sunday 24 October 2021 Gas works
Link Road Tuesday 26 October Tuesday 26 October 2021 Bridge survey
Little Stonegate Monday 1 November Tuesday 2 November 2021 Building maintenance
Low Petergate Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Main Street, Elvington Monday 18 October Friday 22 October 2021 Road resurfacing work
Malton Road Monday 25 October Tuesday 26 October 2021 Traffic signal refurbishments
Market Street Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Marygate Tuesday 1 June Thursday 16 December 2021 Flood defence works
Micklegate Monday 18 October Friday 24 December 2021 Building demolition work
Murton Footpath No. 30/1/10 Sunday 1 August Monday 31 January 2022 Bridge replacement work
Murton Footpath No. 30/9/10 Sunday 1 August Monday 31 January 2022 Bridge replacement work
Nether Poppleton Level Crossing Saturday 30 October Sunday 31 October 2021 Railway maintenance
New Street Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Newgate Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Oak Tree Lane Monday 18 October Monday 8 November 2021 Gas works
Osbaldwick lane Thursday 28 October Friday 29 October 2021 Road resurfacing work
Parliament Street Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Patrick Pool Tuesday 13 May Friday 30 September 2022 Pavement cafés
Piccadilly Thursday 21 October Friday 22 October 2021 Road resurfacing work
Skelton Footpath No. 11/6/10 Sunday 1 August Monday 31 January 2022 Bridge replacement work
The Shambles Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Silver Street Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Spurriergate Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
St Helen's Square Monday 15 June 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
St Nicholas Crescent, Copmanthorpe Monday 4 October Friday 29 October 2021 Footway maintenance
St Sampson’s Square Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Stonegate Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Strensall Footpath No. 3/13/10 Sunday 1 August Monday 31 January 2022 Bridge replacement work
Swinegate Monday 17 August 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Terry Avenue Monday 8 February Sunday 7 August 2022 Flood defence works
Walmgate Wednesday 16 December 2020 Tuesday 14 December 2021 Social distancing measures
Wellington Row Wednesday 4 August Friday 31 October 2021 Flood defence work
Wigginton Public footpath No. 2 Monday 11 October Tuesday 30 November 2021 Footpath resurfacing work

Top of page


Also see

Traffic Management Team

West Offices, Station Rise, York, YO1 6GA

Telephone: 01904 551550