Streets, roads and pavements

Temporary traffic restrictions

View details of all current temporary traffic restrictions in place in York, including closures due to major events.

Alternately, view details of current temporary parking suspensions.

We've listed our traffic restrictions in alphabetical order.


Temporary road closures

Road closed Date and time closed from Date and time closed to Reason for closure
A1079 Monday 20 July Sunday 18 October 2020 Drainage improvement works
Acomb Markets Saturday 15 February Saturday 19 December 2020 Public event
Alma Terrace Monday 16 March 2020 Wednesday 15 September 2021 Provide Disabled Persons parking place
Askham Bryan Footpath 2/9/10 Saturday 16 November 2019 Sunday 15 November 2020 Public safety
Back Swinegate Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Blake Street Monday 15 June Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Church Street Monday 15 June Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Clifton Ings Friday 31 July Sunday 31 January 2021 Flood defence works
College Street Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Colliergate Monday 15 June Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Coney Street Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Coppergate Friday 17 July Tuesday 15 December 2020 Social distancing measures
Davygate Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Deangate Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Esplanade Car Park Saturday 18 January Sunday 15 November 2020 Rowing events
Feasegate Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Footpath: Westminster Road to Riverside Path Friday 4 September Wednesday 11 November 2020 Flood defence works
Footpath: Almery Terrace to Riverside Path Monday 7 September Friday 16 October 2020 Flood defence works
Footpath: Riverside path, Poplar Grove Thursday 24 September Thursday 15 October 2020 Flood defence works
Fossgate Saturday 25 July Tuesday 15 December 2020 Social distancing measures
Goodramgate Monday 15 June Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Grape Lane Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
High Ousegate Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Hull Road Monday 7 September Friday 13 November 2020 Trafffic signal improvement works
Jubbergate Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
King's Square Monday 15 June Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Lendal Monday 15 June Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Low Petergate Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Market Street Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Murton Footpath No 30/1/10 Monday 8 June Monday 7 December 2020 Bridge maintenance
New Street Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Newgate Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Parliament Street Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Queen's Staith Monday 16 September 2019 Friday 22 January 2021 Nearby development works
St Helen's Square Monday 15 June Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
St Sampson's Square Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Shambles Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Silver Street Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Spurriergate Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Stonegate Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing
Strensall Footpath No 3/13/10 Friday 15 May Friday 11 December 2020 River bank reconstruction works
Strensall Footpath No 3/13/10 Friday 12 June Friday 11 December 2020 River bank reconstruction works
Swinegate Monday 17 August Tuesday 15 December 2020 Footstreet extension - social distancing

Top of page


Closures due to events

  • multiple streets due to extension of footstreet hours between 10.30am Monday 30 July and midnight Sunday 16 August 2020
  • Esplanade Car Park, during rowing events between Saturday 18 January 2020 and Sunday 15 November 2020
  • Knavesmire, due to traffic management during events taking place on the Knavesmire between Saturday 30 May and Saturday 31 October 2020

Top of page


Also see

Traffic Management Team

West Offices, Station Rise, York, YO1 6GA

Telephone: 01904 551550