Travel and transport

Temporary road closures

View details of all current temporary road closures in place in York, including closures due to major events.

Alternately, view details of current temporary parking suspensions.


Current temporary road closures

All closures take place from 1 minute after midnight on the start date to 11.59pm on the end date, unless the specific times are shown.

Road closed Date and time closed from Date and time closed to Reason for closure
Askam Bryan Public Right of Way 2/9/10 Monday 16 May Wednesday 30 November 2022 Public safety concerns
Beech Grove Tuesday 31 May, 8.00am Monday 6 June 2022. 4.00pm Road resurfacing
Black Dike Lane Tuesday 12 July Sunday 15 July 2022 Great Yorkshire Show
Blake Street Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Castlegate Wednesday 15 December 2021 Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Castlegate Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Church Street Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Church Street Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Clifton Ings Monday 4 April Tuesday 4 October 2022 Flood defence works
Clifton Ings footpath 25/4/10 Monday 9 May Wednesday 9 November 2022 Flood defence works
Colliergate Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
College Street Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Common Road Level Crossing, Strensall Wednesday 25 May, 11.30pm Thursday 26 May 2022, 5.55am Railway maintenance work
Coppergate Wednesday 15 December 2021 Tuesday 14 June 2022 Social distancing measures
Coppergate Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Davygate Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Deangate Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Eboracum Way footpath Sunday 1 August 2021 Tuesday 21 June 2022 Building works
Esplanade Sunday 10 July Sunday 10 July 2022 Dragon boat race River Ouse
Eye of York Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Front Street, Acomb Saturday 18 June, 6.00am Saturday 18 June 2022, 6.00pm Acomb market
Front Street, Acomb Saturday 16 July, 6.00am Saturday 16 July 2022, 6.00pm Acomb market
Front Street, Acomb Saturday 20 August, 6.00am Saturday 20 August 2022, 6.00pm Acomb market
Front Street, Acomb Saturday 17 September, 6.00am Saturday 17 September 2022, 6.00pm Acomb market
Front Street, Acomb Saturday 15 October, 6.00am Saturday 15 October 2022, 6.00pm Acomb market
Front Street, Acomb Saturday 19 November, 6.00am Saturday 19 November 2022, 6.00pm Acomb market
Front Street, Acomb Saturday 17 December, 6.00am Saturday 17 December 2022, 6.00pm Acomb market
Fossgate Wednesday 15 December 2021 Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Goodramgate Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Green Lane footpath 46/26 Wednesday 11 May Saturday 8 October 2022 Horse race events
High Ousgate Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
High Petergate Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Heslington lane Monday 30 May, 8.30am Monday 30 May 2022, 6.00pm Roadway maintenance
Hodgson Lane Friday 3 June Friday 3 June 2022 Sports Day
Kings Square Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Layerthorpe Monday 28 March Saturday 20 August 2022 Building works
Leeman Road Friday 17 May, 9.15pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 6.00am Heavy plant movement
Lendal Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Long Ridge Lane Tuesday 12 July Sunday 15 July 2022 Great Yorkshire Show
Low Petergate Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Main Street Friday 3 June Friday 3 June 2022 Sports Day
Minster Gates Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Minster Yard Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Murton footpath No. 30/1/10 Sunday 1 August 2021 Tuesday 31 January 2023 Bridge replacement works
Murton footpath No. 30/9/10 Sunday 1 August 2021 Tuesday 31 January 2023 Bridge replacement works
Ogleforth Monday 23 May Tuesday 31 May 2022 Sewer works
Parliament Street Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Patrick Pool Tuesday 13 May 2021 Friday 30 September 2022 Pavement cafés
Pavement Tuesday 31 May, 4.30am Tuesday 31 May 2022, 5.15am Drone surveying work
Piccadilly Tuesday 31 May, 4.30am Tuesday 31 May 2022, 5.15am Drone surveying work
Station Road Tuesday 12 July Sunday 15 July 2022 Great Yorkshire Show
Station Road Friday 3 June Friday 3 June 2022 Sports Day
Stonegate Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
St Giles Way, Copmanthorpe Thursday 26 May Monday 30 May 2022 Road resurfacing
St Helens Square Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
St Sampson's Square Friday 27 May, 6.00pm Saturday 28 May 2022, 10.00pm York Viking Festival
Skelton footpath No. 11/6/10 Sunday 1 August 2021 Tuesday 31 January 2023 Bridge maintenance works
Strensall footpath No. 3/13/10 Sunday 1 August 2021 Tuesday 31 January 2023 Bridge replacement works
Strensall footpath No. 3/15/10 and 3/15/20 Monday 2 May, 9.00am Friday 3 June 2022, 5.00pm Roadway maintenance works
Terry Avenue (access to Rowntree Park Car Park) Monday 8 February 2021 Sunday 7 August 2022 Flood defence works
The Green Friday 3 June Friday 3 June 2022 Sports Day
The Old Village Monday 23 May, 8.00am Friday 17 June 2022, 4.00pm Road maintenance
Tudor Road Tuesday 31 May, 8.30am Wednesday 1 June, 6.00pm Road resurfacing
Vine Street Monday 23 May, 11.30pm Thursday 26 May 2022. 5.55am Railway maintenance
Walmgate Wednesday 15 December 2021 Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
Wigginton Road Level Crossing Wednesday 1 June, 11.45pm Thursday 2 June, 5.30am Railway track maintenance
York footpath 46/30 Wednesday 11 May Saturday 8 October 2022 Horse race events
York Footstreets Wednesday 12 January Friday 30 September 2022 Business promotion measures
York Road, Haxby Friday 3 June, 11.30pm Saturday 4 June, 6.00am Railway maintenance

Top of page


Road closures for the Queen's Jubilee street parties

All closures take place from 1 minute after midnight on the start date to 11.59pm on the end date, unless the specific times are shown.

Road closed Date and time closed from Date and time closed to
Albemarle Road Thursday 2 June Thursday 2 June
Almsford Road Friday 3 June Friday 3 June
Ambleside Avenue Saturday 4 June Saturday 4 June
Bedern Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Bewlay Street Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Bishopthorpe Road Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Cavendish Grove Friday 3 June Friday 3 June
Chelwood Walk Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Common Road, Dunnington Friday 3 June Friday 3 June
Drakes Close Saturday 4 June Saturday 4 June
Eton Drive Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Felbrook Avenue Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Finsbury Street Friday 3 June Friday 3 June
Galtres Avenue Friday 3 June Friday 3 June
Greenside Walk, Dunnington Saturday 4 June Saturday 4 June
Hambleton Terrace Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Hempland Drive Saturday 4 June Saturday 4 June
Hodgson Lane, Poppleton Thursday 2 June Thursday 2 June
Howe Hill Close Friday 3 June Friday 3 June
Kir Crescent Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Main Street, Elvington Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Main Street, Heslington Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Main Street, Naburn Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Manor Drive North Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Maple Grove Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Melbourne Street Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Montague Street Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Moorgate Thursday 2 June Thursday 2 June
Mount Parade Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
New Walk Terrace Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Nunmill Street Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Oakland Avenue Saturday 4 June Saturday 4 June
Oakland Drive Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Pinewood Grove Friday 3 June Friday 3 June
Plantation Way Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Pollard Close Friday 3 June Friday 3 June
Queenswood Grove Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Rawcliffe Croft Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Springwood Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
St Swithins Walk Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Stratford Way Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Thoresby Road Saturday 4 June Saturday 4 June
Tisbury Road Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June
Westminster Road Sunday 5 June Sunday 5 June

Top of page


Road closures for the York Races

Race day closures for Friday 10 June and Saturday 11 June

  • Albemarle Road
  • Cherry Lane
  • Curzon Terrace
  • Kensington Street
  • Knavesmire Crescent
  • Knavesmire Road
  • Lorne Street
  • Montague Street
  • Queen Victoria Street
  • Racecourse Road
  • Scarcroft Hill
  • St Edwards Close
  • Telford Terrace and back lanes
  • Top Lane, Copmanthorpe
  • Trafalgar Street

Top of page


Also see

Traffic Management Team

West Offices, Station Rise, York, YO1 6GA

Telephone: 01904 551550