Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator website
Your council

Service Responsibilities

Place Directorate

Within the Council Management Team, the role of Corporate Director of Place is Neil Ferris.

Service responsibilities within our 'Place Directorate' are within the remit of:

Corporate Director of Place - Neil Ferris


Name Job title Service areas
James Gilchrist Director Environment, Transport and Planning Environment, Transport and Planning
Tracey Carter Director Economy, Regeneration and Housing Economy, Regeneration and Housing

Top of page

Director of Environment, Transport and Planning - James Gilchrist


Name Job title Service areas
Michael Howard Head of Highways and Transport Highways and Transport
Matt Boxall Head of Public Protection Public Protection and Regional Investigations
Becky Eades Head of Planning and Development Services Planning and Development Services
Ben Grabham Head of Environmental Services Environmental Services, Including Waste and Public Realm
Jane Mowat Head of Community Safety Community Safety
Steve Wragg Head of Highway Asset Management Highway Asset Management
Steve Ball Resilience and Contingencies Manager Resilience and Contingencies

Top of page

Director of Economy, Regeneration and Housing – Tracey Carter


Name Job title Service areas
Kathryn Daly Head of City Development City Development, Economy, Regeneration, Inward Investment and Business Growth, Strategic Planning Policy
Nick Collins Head of Property Property
Denis Southall Head of Housing Management Services Housing Management
Michael Jones Head of Housing Delivery and Asset Management Housing Delivery and Asset Management

Top of page

Also see

City of York Council

West Offices, Station Rise, York YO1 6GA

Telephone: 01904 551550