Your council

Executive council members

City of York Council's Executive is made up of 9 portfolios:

View the Executive Committee details, including membership information, details of meeting and agendas, and contact details.

City of York Councillor, Keith Aspden.

Leader of the Council and Executive Member for Policy, Strategy and Partnerships

Councillor Keith Aspden, with responsibilities for:

  • Policy, Strategy and Partnerships
  • Communications and Media
  • Legal, Democratic and Civic Support
  • Regional  and National Matters

Top of page

City Of York councillor, Andy D'Agorne.

Deputy Leader of the Council and Executive Member for Transport

Councillor Andy D'Agorne, with responsibilities for:

  • Civil Engineering and Highways
  • Cycling Infrastructure
  • Parking Services and Parking Strategy
  • Transport Strategy
  • Travel Planning
  • Highways Strategy
  • Taxi Licensing (in conjunction with Chair of Licensing)
  • Street Lighting
  • Digital Infrastructure
  • Local, Regional and National Transport Infrastructure
  • Fleet Management
  • Emergency Planning

Top of page

City Of York councillor, Nigel Ayre.

Executive Member for Finance and Performance

Councillor Nigel Ayre, with responsibilities for:

  • Customer Services
  • Bereavement and Registrar
  • Human Resources and Payroll
  • ICT
  • Information Management
  • Financial Management and Strategy
  • Investment and Commercialisation
  • Financial Procedures and Risk Management
  • Performance and Business Assurance
  • Procurement Services and Commissioning
  • Asset Management
  • Operational Accommodation
  • Facilities Management
  • Health and Safety Operational Standards
  • Major Project delivery, including the Community Stadium and the Local Plan

Top of page

City Of York councillor, Denise Craghill.

Executive Member for Housing and Safer Neighbourhoods

Councillor Denise Craghill, with responsibilities for:

  • Housing
  • Tenant Engagement
  • Homelessness
  • Fraud
  • Community Safety and Safer Neighbourhoods
  • Safer York Partnership
  • Police liaison
  • Anti-Social Behaviour
  • Licensing Policy (in conjunction with Chair of Licensing)
  • Community Cohesion
  • Prevent
  • Financial Inclusion

Top of page

City Of York councillor Ian Cuthbertson

Executive Member for Children, Young People and Education

Councillor Ian Cuthbertson with responsibilities for:

  • Children’s Social Care
  • School Improvement and Organisation
  • Children and Families
  • Early Intervention and Local Area Teams
  • Youth Support Services
  • School Place Planning
  • Children’s Safeguarding
  • Special Educational Needs
  • Children’s Centres and Early Years
  • Youth Offending

Top of page

City Of York councillor, Carol Runciman

Executive Member for Health and Adult Social Care

Councillor Carol Runciman, with responsibilities for:

  • Health and Social Care Integration
  • Public Health and Health Inequalities
  • Substance Misuse
  • Mental Health Services
  • Domestic Violence
  • Services for Carers
  • Adult Social Care and Safeguarding
  • Local Area Co-ordination
  • Assessment and Personalisation
  • Residential, Home and Respite Care
  • Older People
  • Learning Disabilities

Top of page

City Of York councillor, Darryl Smalley.

Executive Member for Culture, Leisure and Communities

Councillor Darryl Smalley, with responsibilities for:

  • Community Consultation and Engagement
  • Ward Committees
  • Community Centres
  • Volunteering
  • Equalities
  • Parish Council liaison
  • Leisure and Sport
  • Tourism
  • Arts, Music, Culture and Heritage
  • Libraries
  • Adult Education and Lifelong Learning

Top of page

City Of York councillor, Andrew Waller.

Executive Member for Economy and Strategic Planning

Councillor Andrew Waller, with responsibilities for:

  • Economic Development and Strategy
  • Regeneration
  • High Streets
  • Business Friendly Council and Business Support
  • Skills Development and Apprenticeships
  • Regulatory Enforcement
  • Health and Safety Enforcement
  • Environmental Health and Food Hygiene
  • Public Protection and Trading Standards
  • Planning Policy, Conservation and Urban Design
  • Neighbourhood Planning
  • Planning and Development Management
  • Building Control

Top of page

City Of York councillor, Paula Widdowson

Executive Member for Environment and Climate Change

Councillor Paula Widdowson, with responsibilities for:

  • Flood Protection
  • Community Environment Team
  • Waste Management and Recycling
  • Street Environment
  • Environment Strategy
  • Green Infrastructure and Biodiversity
  • Air Quality
  • Climate Change and Sustainability
  • Parks and Open Spaces
  • Performance and Business Intelligence

Top of page

Council directorates

Our services and functions are grouped within 4 directorates and the Office of the Chief Operating Officer.

For more information visit Council Management Team.

Other members of the council

Get information about your local councillors.

Get information about the committee structure of City of York Council.

Also see

Democratic Services

West Offices, Station Rise, York, YO1 6GA

Telephone: 01904 551088