School term dates

School term dates and holidays by school year:

These are the recommended term dates set by City of York Council for schools in our area, although some schools and academies may choose to adopt different dates.

Term dates are set according to regionally agreed principles between 25 different Local Authorities in Yorkshire and the North East in order to minimise differences for those families that live, work or go to school in more than one Local Authority area. Starting from these principles, we work with neighbouring local authorities to set dates that have the least differences with our immediate neighbours, though other Local Authorities may have other considerations and needs that are reflected in different term dates.

The school year always starts on the first Monday in September and is 39 weeks long - 195 school days.

Temporary school closures

For information on unplanned school closures, such as in cases of bad weather, see school closures.

Schools will be closed to pupils for 5 school training / Professional Development days each academic year - each school determines when these training days will take place.

Contact individual schools to find out more.

2017/2018 term dates

Download the calendar of 2017/2018 term dates

Autumn term 2017 From To
1st half of term Monday 4 September Friday 27 October
Half-term holiday Monday 30 October Friday 3 November
2nd half of term Monday 6 November Friday 22 December
Spring term 2018 From To
1st half of term Monday 8 January Friday 9 February
Half-term holiday Monday 12 February Friday 16 February
2nd half of term Monday 19 February Friday 23 March
Summer term 2018 From To
1st half of term Monday 9 April Friday 25 May
Half-term holiday Monday 28 May Friday 1 June
2nd half of term Monday 4 June Monday 23 July

Top of page

2018/2019 term dates

Download the calendar of 2018/2019 term dates

Autumn term 2018 From To
1st half of term Monday 3 September Friday 26 October
Half-term holiday Monday 29 October Friday 2 November
2nd half of term Monday 5 November Friday 21 December
Spring term 2019 From To
1st half of term Monday 7 January Friday 22 February
Half-term holiday Monday 25 February Friday 1 March
2nd half of term Monday 4 March Friday 12 April
Summer term 2019 From To
1st half of term Monday 29 April Friday 24 May
Half-term holiday Monday 27 May Friday 31 May
2nd half of term Monday 3 June Monday 22 July

Top of page

Also see

Comment on this page
Feedback
Back to the top of the page