City of York Council's Executive is made up of 8 porfolios.

View the Executive Committee details, including membership information, details of meeting and agendas, and contact details.

Cllr gillies

Leader of the Council and Executive Member for Finance and Performance

Councillor Ian Gillies, with responsibilities for:

Policy, Strategy and Partnerships; Re-Wiring Public Services; Customer Services; Human Resources and Payroll; ICT; Financial Services; Financial Procedures and Risk Management; Performance and Business Assurance; Procurement Services and Commissioning; Property Services; Operational Accommodation; Business Continuity; Facilities Management, Emergency Planning; jointly for the Local Plan and Regional Matters.

Cllr aspden

Deputy Leader and Executive Member for Economic Development and Community Engagement

Councillor Keith Aspden, with responsibilities for:

Electoral Services; Legal Services and Information Management; Civic and Democratic Services (inc. Scrutiny); Communications and Media; Community Engagement; Ward Committees; Parish Council liaison; Play Policy; Youth Support Services; Economic Development and Regeneration; Business; Skills Development and Apprenticeships; jointly for the Local Plan.

Picture of Councillor Peter Dew

Executive Member for Transport and Planning

Councillor Peter Dew, with responsibilities for:

Civil Engineering and Highways; Parking Services and Parking Strategy; Transport Strategy; Highways Strategy; Taxi Licensing (in conjunction with Chair of Licensing);
Digital Infrastructure; Regional and National Transport Infrastructure; Fleet Management; Planning Conservation and Urban Design; Planning and Development Management.

Councillor Carol Runciman

Executive Member for Adult Social Care and Health

Councillor Carol Runciman, with responsibilities for:

Public Health; Domestic Violence; Services for carers; Adult Safeguarding; Assessment and Personalisation; Older People, Mental Health and Respite; Financial Inclusion.

Picture of Councillor Keith Myers

Executive Member for Education, Children and Young People

Councillor Keith Myers, with responsibilities for:

School Improvement and Staff Development; Children and Families; Partnerships and Early Intervention; School Place Planning; Children’s Safeguarding; Special Educational Needs; Children’s Centres and Early Years; Youth Offending.

Councillor Jenny Brooks

Executive Member for Housing and Safer Neighbourhoods

Councillor Jenny Brooks, with responsibilities for:

Alcohol and Drugs Action; Housing; Fraud; Safer Neighbourhoods; Police liaison; Anti-Social Behaviour; Licensing Enforcement and Licensing Policy (in conjunction with Chair of Licensing); Community Cohesion; Prevent.

Picture of Councillor Nigel Ayre

Executive Member for Culture, Leisure and Tourism

Councillor Nigel Ayre, with responsibilities for:

Leisure and Sport (including Community Stadium); Tourism; Arts, Culture and Heritage; Lifelong Learning; Parks; Trading Standards; Licensing and Bereavement; Registrar; Animal Welfare; Volunteering; Equalities, Inclusion and Diversity; Peer Review.


Executive Member for the Environment

Councillor Andrew Waller, with responsibilities for:

Environmental Health and Food Hygiene; Health and Safety (internal and external); Flood Protection; Environment and Community; Waste Management; Street Environment; Environment Strategy; Air Quality; Street-based delivery of services; Community Centres; jointly for Regional Matters.

Council directorates

Our services and functions are grouped within 4 directorates and the Office of the Chief Executive.

See council staff structure charts and more information about the council directorates.

Other members of the council

Get information about your local councillors.

Get information about the committee structure of City of York Council.

Also see

Comment on this page