Published Monday, 20th May 2019

Cllr Janet Looker will be officially appointed as the Rt Hon the Lord Mayor of York at City of York Council’s Annual Council.

Over 100 guests will attend the annual meeting on Wednesday 22 May, including the new Civic Party, outgoing Civic Party, councillors and council officers.

Cllr Janet Looker will be sworn in to office for her second term and will take over from the current Lord Mayor, Cllr Keith Orrell. Cllr Looker previously served as Lord Mayor from 2004 until 2005.

Dafydd Williams will step in as the temporary Sheriff from Mrs Verna Campbell from Wednesday 22 May. Mrs Jo Trythall will take over the role of Sheriff of York from Mr Williams on Thursday 25 July, due to previously agreed commitments.

The ceremony will be held in the council chambers at the Guildhall, a 15th century building historically renowned for hosting the swearing in of the Rt Hon the Lord Mayor of York.

The civic party will then parade through the city centre, led by Police Commander for York and Selby, Superintendent Lindsey Robson and accompanied by the York Guard.

The procession will make its way through the city centre, up Blake Street and on to the Assembly Rooms to complete their traditions with a private luncheon.

Temporary traffic restrictions will be in place on Blake Street between 12 noon to 1pm.




Comment on this page