Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS)

Website maintenance

Due to essential maintenance work, our website may be offline for a few minutes on Monday 26 June between 10pm and midnight. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

The Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS), also known as 'The Rating System', evaluates potential health and safety risks which could be caused by problems (or 'deficiencies') in homes.

The underlying principle of the HHSRS is that:

'all residential premises should provide a safe and healthy environment for any potential occupier or visitor'.

Landlords' guide to HHSRS

Download the landlord's guide to the Housing Health and Safety Rating System.

Housing hazards factsheets

The Rating System identifies 29 hazards - download factsheets on the 10 most common housing hazards.

Also see

Comment on this page
Back to the top of the page