The legislation which relates to building control is contained within the 13 approved documents, available via the Department for Communities and Local Government website.

The documents contain suggestions on how to achieve a minimum standard of construction:

  • Part A - structure
  • Part B - fire safety
  • Part C - site preparation and resistance to moisture
  • Part D - toxic substances
  • Part E - resistance to the passage of sound
  • Part F - ventilation
  • Part G - hygiene
  • Part H - drainage and waste disposal
  • Part J - heat producing appliances
  • Part K - protection from falling, collision and impact
  • Part L - conservation of fuel and power
  • Part M - access and facilities for disabled people
  • Part N - glazing
  • Part P - electrical safety

Also see


Comment on this page