Council directorates

Our services and functions are grouped within four directorates under the direction of the Chief Executive:

Your directors

Chief Executive

Mary WeastellMary Weastell

Mary has lead responsibility for the strategic direction and operations of City of York Council, ensuring it provides excellent quality services for the communities and residents of York and supporting members to deliver their key priorities for the city. In partnership with key stakeholders, she works to ensure the city realises its ambitions, that everyone can reach their full potential and the whole of York continues to be a great place to live, enjoy life, study and work. She has the lead coordination role in the Devolution process for the city and neighbouring areas.

Read Mary's biography

Email: Mary.Weastell@york.gov.uk

Principal support officer: Sarah Butcher sarah.butcher@york.gov.uk

Address: West Offices


Deputy Chief Executive and Corporate Director: Customer and Corporate Services

Ian Floyd

(Statutory responsibility - Section 151 officer)

Legal, democratic and civic support; information and communications technology; communications, knowledge and performance management; asset and property management; property design and facilities management; financial services; procurement; income collection; human resources; payroll; staff health and safety; benefits; customer services; bereavement services; Registrars; complaints and FOI

Email: ian.floyd@york.gov.uk

Executive assistant: Sarah Bentley sarah.bentley@york.gov.uk

Address: West Offices

Customer and Corporate Services


Corporate Director: Children, Education and Communities

Jon Stonehouse

Jon Stonehouse

(Statutory responsibility - Director of Children's Services)

Support for people with learning disabilities; children's social care; fostering and adoption; young people's services; early years service; special educational needs; school improvement; school organisation and support; adult education and skills; communities and equalities, leisure and community centres; people and neighbourhoods strategy and policy

Email: jon.stonehouse@york.gov.uk

Address: West Offices

Executive assistant: Clare Davies clare.davies@york.gov.uk

Children, Education and Communities


Corporate Director: Health, Housing and Adult Social Care

Martin Farran

(Statutory responsibility - Director of Adult Services)

Public Health; adult social care; care management; residential care; home care; respite care; carers support; mental health services; support for people with learning disabilities; reablement; safeguarding; housing and homelessness; building services; emergency planning; community safety; people and neighbourhoods strategy and policy

Email: Martin.Farran@york.gov.uk

Executive assistant: Sue Hull sue.hull@york.gov.uk

Address: West Offices

Health, Housing and Adult Social Care


Director: Public Health

Sharon Stoltz

(Statutory responsibility - Director of Public Health)

Email: sharon.stoltz@york.gov.uk

Executive assistant: Kate Stoker kate.stoker@york.gov.uk

Address: West Offices


Corporate Director Economy and Place

Neil FerrisNeil Ferris

Planning policy; building control; land and property gazetteer; city development and regeneration; neighbourhood planning; spatial evidence; transport; parking; conservation and sustainability; travel planning; road safety; rights of way; cycling policy; traffic management; CCTV; street lighting; flood risk and water management; waste collection and disposal; recycling; fleet management; public protection; business and economic policy and strategy

Email: Neil.Ferris@york.gov.uk

Executive assistant: Shirley Simpson shirley.simpson@york.gov.uk

Address: West Offices

Economy and Place


Your executives

The City of York 'Council Executive' is made up of eight councillors.

Comment on this page
Feedback
Back to the top of the page