Your council

Police and crime commissioner election

Elections took place on Thursday 5 May 2016 to elect a police and crime commissioner in each policing area - see the police and crime commissioner election results.

For North Yorkshire Police area councils which held elections were:

  • City of York Council
  • Craven District Council
  • Hambleton District Council
  • Harrogate District Council
  • Richmondshire District Council
  • Ryedale District Council - lead authority
  • Scarborough District Council
  • Selby District Council

For each area, the 'lead authority':

Each council that held elections had a 'local returning officer' to undertake normal election arrangements for voters.

Supplementary voting system

New police and crime commissioners are elected using the 'supplementary voting' system:

  • the system is used to elect mayors, which is the closest role to the new Police and Crime Commissioner
  • a simple 'majority system', unless there are 3 or more candidates
  • if there are 3 or more candidates:
    • a voter is asked to indicate first and second preferences
    • if no candidate has 50% of the first preference votes, the two candidates with the highest number of first preference votes go forward to a second round
    • in the second round of counting ballots indicating a first preference for a candidate that lost the first round are reallocated according to the second preference indicated in the ballot paper

Also see

Electoral Services

West Offices, Station Rise, York, YO1 6GA

Telephone: 01904 551007