Your council

2021 elections in York

Details of elections in York to be held during 2021 will be published on this page, including:

  • key dates
  • voting registration timeframes
  • statutory supporting documentation
  • details of COVID-19 safety measures

Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner elections - 6 May 2021

Police, Fire and Crime Commissioners (PFCCs) are elected representatives who oversee a police force and fire service area. PFCCs are elected every 4 years.

An election for the next North Yorkshire PFCC was due to be held on Thursday 7 May 2020, but was postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic. This election will now be held on Thursday 6 May 2021.

See further information about the PFCC election:

Top of page

PFCC polling station locations

Please note that polling station locations have been amended in some areas in York for the upcoming PFCC Elections.

See all PFCC election polling station locations.

See the PFCC Situations of Polling Stations.

Top of page

PFCC authorities

There will be 1 PFCC elected for all of North Yorkshire. The following local authorities make up the North Yorkshire area:

  • Selby District Council – lead authority
  • City of York Council
  • Craven District Council
  • Hambleton District Council
  • Harrogate District Council
  • Richmondshire District Council
  • Ryedale District Council
  • Scarborough District Council

For each police area, a single council acts as the lead authority to undertake nomination of candidates and co-ordinate the results. For the North Yorkshire area the lead authority is Selby District Council.

The Selby District Council website will contain the information for this election, such as a timetable, information for candidates, and other electoral processes.

See further information on candidates standing in your area for the Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner Election on the Choose My PCC website, or call telephone: 0808 1962170.

Top of page

Supplementary voting

The new PFCCs are elected using the ‘supplementary voting’ system. This is currently also the system used to elect Mayors.

Voting will be by way of a simple majority system unless there are 3 or more candidates. If there are 3 or more candidates then the commissioner will be returned under the supplementary vote system.

Under the supplementary vote system, a voter is asked to indicate first and second preferences, if no candidate has 50% of the first preference votes, the 2 candidates with the highest number of first preference votes go forward to a second round.

In the second round of counting, ballots indicating a first preference for a candidate that lost the first round are reallocated according to the second preference indicated on the ballot paper.

Top of page

COVID-19 and the PFCC election

Due to COVID-19 and the ongoing restrictions, the elections this year will require additional provisions to make polling stations safe for voters and staff.

The safety of voters and staff is very important to us. Risk assessments are being undertaken and a number of measures will be implemented to ensure everyone's safety:

  • staff will be issued with PPE and safety equipment, in accordance with government and Public Health guidance
  • there will be additional signage in order to assist voters attending polling stations on the day
  • there may be a limit to the number of voters that can enter a station at any one time
  • one-way systems may need to be implemented
  • voters will be required to wear a mask over their nose and mouth in polling stations (unless exempt)
  • social distancing will be in force

Voters will also be encouraged to bring their own pencil or pen with them, but we will still be providing pencils as usual if required.

If voters would prefer not to vote in person, they can apply for either a postal vote or nominate a proxy to either attend the polling station on their behalf, or also have a postal vote.

Top of page

Also see

Electoral Services

West Offices, Station Rise, York, YO1 6GA

Telephone: 01904 551007